Webinar: Open Book Metadata : metadatos abiertos en libros académicos publicados en acceso abierto

We are pleased to announce the next OASPA webinar which will explore the question of open metadata with regard to books. What are the relations, challenges, and opportunities of thinking and developing open book metadata and open access in terms of labor, quality, persistence, standardization, accessibility, and discoverability?

Date: Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Time: 3.15 pm – 4.30 pm UTC / GMT
(Time Zone Conversion Tool) Other timezones: 7.15 am Pacific Time, 9.15 am Central Time, 10.15 am Eastern Time, 12.15 pm Brasilia Time, 4.15 pm Central European Time, 4.15 pm West Africa Time, 5.15 pm South Africa Standard Time, 8.45 pm India Standard Time, 2:15 am Thu Australian Eastern Daylight Time)

OASPA is pleased to announce our next webinar which will focus on open book metadata. As the open access landscape continues to evolve, its multiple entanglements with open data, open science, and open source infrastructure become increasingly clear. Open metadata are another important element of this picture. High-quality metadata are essential for publishers, libraries, and vendors alike, and their format, content, and licensing have been a matter of discussion within the open-access publishing world. Whereas the issue of open metadata has considerable traction in the journal world, its elaboration within the context of book publishing lags behind, not in the least because of the arguably higher complexity of the book value chain.

In this OASPA webinar, we intend to shine a light on the question of open metadata with regard to books. This does not only pertain to the question of what “open” means in this context (CC0-licensed as for instance defined by Plan S and Europeana), but also how to ensure the openness and quality of open metadata throughout the value chain, where multiple actors produce, ingest, edit, process, and export metadata in a multitude of formats. What, therefore, are the relations, challenges, and opportunities of thinking and developing open book metadata and open access in terms of labor, quality, persistence, standardization, accessibility, and discoverability?

The webinar will be chaired by Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei (punctum books) who will also speak about open metadata from the perspective of a scholar-led open access publisher. The panelists will each speak for 6 minutes, and then we will open it up to questions from the audience and have an extended discussion.

Please join us live for this free webinar and contribute to the discussion by registering here.

Fecha de evento: 

Miércoles, 24 Febrero, 2021 - 12:15
 

Contáctenos

Av. Corrientes 2052 2º y 3º pisos Buenos Aires - ARGENTINA CP: (C1045AAP)
Teléfonos (54) (011)
   Secretaría:  5285-5580
   Biblioteca:  5285-5583
   Pub.Periódicas: 5285-5581
   Informática: 5285-5584
Email: sisbi@sisbi.uba.ar
Web: www.sisbi.uba.ar

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
RSS icon

 

Sistema de Bibliotecas y de Información
Secretaría de Ciencia y Técnica
Universidad de Buenos Aires
© 2014